History of the Princely House

An Overview


Emblem of Prince
Karl I. 1615

The Princely House of Liechtenstein is one of the oldest noble families. A bearer of this name is first mentioned in 1136 as Hugo of Liechtenstein.

He called himself after the Liechtenstein Castle, situated in the south of Vienna. The early Liechtenstein Family had properties in the vicinity of the family castle and at the north-eastern border with Lower Austria. The uninterrupted family line of the Liechtenstein Family began with Heinrich (I) (died 1265/66) of Liechtenstein, who obtained the lordship over Nikolsburg in South Moravia as free property. The acquisition was of great political importance, because resulting from this, the family acquired a substantial possession within the territory of the Wenzel Crown.

The importance of this acquisition was demonstrated in 1394, when Johann I of Liechtenstein, Chamberlain of the Royal Household of the Habsburg Duke Albrecht III, after nearly 30 years of government leadership on the Duke's behalf, virtually lost, together with his family, all the family's possessions, especially those in the south of the Danube, probably as the result of the Habsburg's power political aspirations. During the following decades, the family strove, by means of new acquisitions, to consolidate the possessions in Lower Austria. In South Moravia in particular the domain was further extended.

In the thirteenth century ... 

In the thirteenth century the family divided into three lines, the Liechtenstein, the Rohrauer and the Petroneller. The two last named lines became extinct already in the next generation and in consequence a great deal of the family property was lost. A similar course of events took place at the beginning of the 16th century when, with the Family Covenant of 1504, three lines were formed, a Stezregger, a Feldsberger and a Nikolsburger line. Only the Feldsberger line survived longer than a few generations, but this time, well considered family laws ensured that the property of the lines becoming extinct devolved upon the survivors.

At the turn of the 16th to the 17th century there were the three brothers Karl, Maximilian, and Gundaker, who initiated a new period in the history of the family. They converted to the Catholic belief. Karl acquired the Great Count Palatinate in 1606 and in 1608 the rank of Hereditary Prince.


Get High Resolution (93K)   

The geometrician and cartographer Johann Jacob Heber (1667-1725) was the first who mapped Liechtenstein in 1721.

His brothers were named in the rank of Hereditary Imperial Prince in 1623. The three brothers, Karl, Maximilian and Gundaker succeeded to enlarge the properties of Liechtenstein many times over. They signed another Family Covenant in 1606, which dictated, among others, that the first born of the oldest descendent line should have the right to the heritable title and should represent the House as a regent.

The provisions of this treaty as well as other provisions were summarised in 1993 in the new house law, which represents the basis for the right to throne succession valid in Liechtenstein. In the critical hours of the history of the Habsburgs, in the second decade of the 17th century, the House of Liechtenstein stood by the Habsburgs and the decisive victory against the Bohemian rebels in 1620 was achieved with the intervention of the brothers Karl and Maximilian.


Contract of sale of
Schellenberg
18. January 1699


Banner of the house
of Liechtenstein (1606)

From the time of the attainment of the title of Imperial Prince, the House of Liechtenstein strove to acquire territory having imperial immediacy; however, it was nearly one hundred years before Karl's grandson, Prince Johann Adam I. (1657-1712) purchased in 1699 and 1712 the territories Schellenberg and Vaduz. With a diploma dated on the 23rd of January 1719, these were raised to the rank of Imperial Principality of Liechtenstein. After the male line of Prince Karl l became extinct in 1712, Anton Florian , a descendant of Gundaker, became the Ruling Prince.


Whereas in the 18th century the country tended to be rather of peripheral interest - at that time the family was still residing in Feldsberg (today the Czech Republic) and Vienna-, it occupied an increasingly central position following its attainment of sovereignty in 1806 and in the 20th century it became the residence of the Ruling Princes. Prince Franz Josef II (1906-1989) moved his permanent residence to Vaduz in 1938. All the members of the family living at the present time descend from Prince Johannes I (1760-1836).

 

News
Result of the popular vote on the power of veto of the Reigning Prince
 
For other interesting news, click here

Geschichte des Hauses Liechtenstein

Ein Überblick


Wappen des Fürsten
Karl I. 1615

Das Liechtensteinische Fürstenhaus zählt zu den ältesten Adelsfamilien. Um 1136 wird mit Hugo von Liechtenstein erstmals ein Träger dieses Namens erwähnt.

Er nannte sich nach der Burg Liechtenstein südlich von Wien. In der Umgebung der Stammburg und an der Nordost-Grenze Niederösterreichs hatten die frühen Liechtenstein Grundbesitz. Die ununterbrochene Ahnenreihe der Liechtensteiner begann mit Heinrich I. (gestorben 1265/66) von Liechtenstein, der die Herrschaft Nicolsburg in Südmähren als freies Eigentum erhielt. Die Erwerbung war von grosser politischer Bedeutung, weil die Familie hiedurch namhaften Besitz im Gebiet der Wenzelkrone erhielt.

 

Die Bedeutung dieses Besitzes sollte sich 1394 erweisen, als Johann I. von Liechtenstein, der während fast 30 Jahren als Hofmeister die Regierungsgeschäfte des Habsburger Herzogs Albrecht III. geführt hatte, ein Opfer der machtpolitischen Bestrebungen der Habsburger wurde und in Ungnade fiel. Er wurde gemeinsam mit seiner Familie gezwungen, auf einen Teil der Besitztümer der Familie zu verzichten, vor allem jene südlich der Donau. In den folgenden Jahrzehnten bemühte sich die Familie, den niederösterreichischen Besitz durch neue Erwerbungen zu festigen, auch wurde besonders das südmährische Dominium weiter ausgebaut.

Im 13. Jahrhundert teilte sich die Familie in die Liechtensteinische, die Rohrauer und die Petroneller Linie. Die beiden letztgenannten Linien starben aber schon in der nächsten Generation aus. Viel wertvoller Familienbesitz ging dadurch verloren. Eine weitere Teilung gab es anfangs des 16. Jahrhunderts, als sich mit dem Familienvertrag von 1504 eine Steyregger, eine Feldsberger und eine Nikolsburger Linie bildete. Nur die Feldsberger überlebte. Diesmal sorgten aber wohldurchdachte Familiengesetze dafür, dass der Besitz aussterbender Linien an die überlebende Linie überging.

Um die Wende des 16. zum 17. Jahrhunderts waren es die drei Brüder Karl, Maximilian und Gundaker, die eine neue Periode der Familiengeschichte einleiteten. Sie konvertierten zum katholischen Glauben. Karl erhielt 1606 den grossen Pfalzgrafenbrief, 1608 die erbliche Fürstenwürde.


Hohe Auflösung laden  

Der Geometer und Kartograf Johann Jacob Heber (1667-1725) zeichnete 1721 die erste Karte Liechtensteins.

Seine Brüder wurden 1623 in den erblichen Reichsfürstenstand erhoben. Den drei Brüdern Karl, Maximilian und Gundaker gelang es, den liechtensteinischen Besitz um ein Mehrfaches zu vergrössern. Sie schlossen 1606 einen neuen Familienvertrag, der unter anderem vorschreibt, dass jeweils der Erstgeborene der ältesten Linie Anrecht auf die erblichen Titel hat und als Regent des Hauses das Geschlecht nach aussen vertritt.

Die Bestimmungen dieses Vertrags sowie weitere Bestimmungen wurden 1993 im neuen Hausgesetz zusammengefasst, das die Grundlage für das in Liechtenstein gültige Thronfolgerecht bildet. In den kritischen Stunden der Geschichte zu Beginn des 17. Jahrhunderts stand das Haus Liechtenstein zu den Habsburgern. Durch das Eingreifen der Brüder Karl und Maximilian konnte 1620 der entscheidende Sieg über die böhmischen Rebellen errungen werden.


Kaufvertrag der
Herrschaft Schellenberg
18. Januar 1699


Banner des Hauses Liechtenstein (1606)

Seit der Erlangung der Reichsfürstenwürde war es das Bestreben des Hauses Liechtenstein, ein reichsunmittelbares Territorium zu erwerben. Es dauerte aber fast hundert Jahre, bis sich dem Enkel Karls, Fürst Johann Adam I. (1657-1712), die Gelegenheit bot, 1699 und 1712 die Besitzungen Schellenberg und Vaduz zu kaufen. Mit kaiserlichem Diplom vom 23. Januar 1719 wurden die beiden Gebiete vereinigt und zum Reichsfürstentum Liechtenstein erhoben. Nach dem Aussterben der Linie des Fürsten Karl wurde im Jahre 1712 Anton Florian, ein Nachkomme Gundakers, regierender Fürst.

Während im 18. Jahrhundert das Land noch eher am Rande des Interesses lag - die Familie residierte damals noch in Feldsberg (heute Tschechien) und Wien -, rückte es nach Erlangung der Souveränität 1806 immer mehr in den Mittelpunkt und wurde im 20. Jahrhundert Sitz der Fürsten. Fürst Franz Josef II. (1906-1989) verlegte 1938 seinen ständigen Wohnsitz nach Vaduz. Alle heute lebenden Familienmitglieder stammen von Fürst Johannes I. (1760-1836) ab.

 

Aktuell
Ansprache Seiner Durchlaucht Erbprinz Alois von und zu Liechtenstein anlässlich des Staatsfeiertages 2014
Ansprache Seiner Durchlaucht Erbprinz Alois von und zu Liechtenstein anlässlich der Landtagseröffnung am 27. Februar 2014
Geburtstags-Interview S.D. des Fürsten mit Herrn Günther Fritz vom Liechtensteiner Vaterland
 
weitere interessante Meldungen finden Sie unter News