H.R.H. Hereditary Princess Sophie

Duchess Sophie was born in Bavaria on 28 October 1967 in Munich as the eldest of the five daughters of Duke Max and Duchess Elizabeth in Bavaria. She was given the names Sophie Elizabeth Marie Gabrielle and is a direct descendant of the last King of Bavaria. Ludwig III (1845-1921) was her great-great-grandfather.

Hereditary Princess Sophie spent her childhood together with her parents and sisters in Wildbad Kreuth, where she also attended the first years of the primary school. From 1978 to 1980 she attended the Girls' Home Primary School of the English Lady in Heiligenstatt and then changed to the Girls' Secondary Boarding School Hohenburg in Lenggries.

In 1984 she entered the Adolf Weber Gymnasium in Munich and passed the school-leaving examination in 1988.

During a stay in London, which lasted several months, she attended tutorial classes at the Inchbald School of Interior Design. She was particularly interested in the various styles of interior furnishings.

Hereditary Princess Sophie studied history and English language and literature at the Catholic University in Eichstätt.

At the beginning of 2006 Hereditary Princess founded the Sophie von Liechtenstein Stiftung für Frau und Kind (Sophie of Liechtenstein Foundation for Woman and Child). The goal of the Foundation is to give women, who unintentionally became pregnant, a more positive life perspective for themselves and their child. The consulting centre "schwanger.li", with offices in Schaan, Liechtenstein, as wall as in the neighbouring Vorarlberg, Austria, is being supported by the Foundation.

She married Hereditary Prince Alois of Liechtenstein on 3 July 1993. They have four children: Prince Joseph Wenzel, born 24 May 1995; Princess Marie Caroline, born 17 October 1996; Prince Georg, born 20 April 1999; and Prince Nikolaus, born 6 December 2000.

News
Result of the popular vote on the power of veto of the Reigning Prince
 
For other interesting news, click here

I.K.H. Erbprinzessin Sophie

Am 28. Oktober 1967 wurde Herzogin Sophie in Bayern als älteste der fünf Töchter von Herzog Max und Herzogin Elizabeth in Bayern in München geboren. Sie wurde auf die Namen Sophie Elizabeth Marie Gabrielle getauft und stammt in direkter Linie vom letzten bayerischen König ab. Ludwig III. (1845 - 1921) war ihr Ururgrossvater.

Erbprinzessin Sophie verbrachte ihre Kindheit zusammen mit ihren Eltern und Geschwistern in Wildbad Kreuth, wo sie auch die ersten Jahre der Volksschule besuchte. Von 1978 bis 1980 ging sie an die Mädchenheimvolksschule der Englischen Fräulein in Heiligenstatt und wechselte dann an die Mädchenrealschule Internat Hohenburg in Lenggries. 1984 trat sie ins Adolf-Weber-Gymnasium in München ein, das sie 1988 mit dem Abitur abschloss.

 

Nach dem Abitur folgte ein mehrmonatiger Aufenthalt in London, während dem sie Seminarien der Inchbald School of Interior Design belegte. Ihr Interesse galt im Besonderen den verschiedenen Stilen der Inneneinrichtung.

Erbprinzessin Sophie studierte an der Katholischen Universität in Eichstätt Geschichte und Anglistik.

Anfang 2006 gründete die Erbprinzessin die Sophie von Liechtenstein Stiftung für Frau und Kind. Diese Stiftung hat das Ziel, Frauen, die ungewollt schwanger werden, eine positive Lebensperspektive für sich und das Kind zu bieten. Die Beratungsstelle "schwanger.li", die sowohl in Schaan, Liechtenstein, wie auch im benachbarten Vorarlberg, Österreich, ein Büro hat, wird von der Stiftung getragen.

 

Am 3. Juli 1993 vermählte sie sich mit Erbprinz Alois von und zu Liechtenstein. Sie haben vier Kinder: - Prinz Joseph Wenzel, geb. 24. Mai 1995 - Prinzessin Marie Caroline, geb. 17. Oktober 1996 - Prinz Georg, geb. 20. April 1999 - Prinz Nikolaus, geb. 6. Dezember 2000.

Vaduz, August 2007

Aktuell
Ansprache Seiner Durchlaucht Erbprinz Alois von und zu Liechtenstein anlässlich der Landtagseröffnung am 27. Februar 2014
Geburtstags-Interview S.D. des Fürsten mit Herrn Günther Fritz vom Liechtensteiner Vaterland
Stellungnahme S.D. des Erbprinzen zum Initiative der FBP zur Entkriminalisierung des Schwangerschaftsabbruchs
 
weitere interessante Meldungen finden Sie unter News