H.S.H. Hereditary Prince Alois

Hereditary Prince Alois was born in Zurich on 11 June 1968 as the eldest son of Prince Hans-Adam II and Princess Marie of Liechtenstein and was christened Alois Philipp Maria. This name was given to the Prince in memory of his great-grandfather, Prince Alois of Liechtenstein, the father of then reigning Prince Franz Josef II.

Hereditary Prince Alois spent his youth at Vaduz Castle. He attended primary school in Vaduz-Ebenholz, and entered the Liechtenstein Gymnasium (high school) in 1979. He graduated in the spring of 1987 (high school diploma type B, with an emphasis on literature and history).

Subsequently, he entered the Royal Military Academy, Sandhurst, Great Britain, where he completed his officer's training. On receiving his commission as second lieutenant, he served for six months in the Coldstream Guards in Hong Kong and London.

In October 1988, Hereditary Prince Alois enrolled as a student of jurisprudence at Salz­burg University. He completed these studies in the spring of 1993 with a master’s degree. From September 1993 until May 1996, he worked for a firm of chartered accountants in London. Since then, he is back in Vaduz and has been working for the family holdings.

On 15 August 2004 under Art. 13bis of the Constitution of the Principality of Liechtenstein Prince Hans-Adam II appointed Hereditary Prince Alois his permanent representative for exercising the sovereign powers due to him, in preparation for his succession to the throne. Since 15 August 2004 the Hereditary Prince has thus been performing both nationally and internationally the duties of Head of State of the Principality of Liechtenstein.
 

On 3 July 1993 HSH Hereditary Prince Alois was married to  HSH Duchess Sophie in Bavaria. They have four children:

  • Prince Joseph Wenzel, born 24 May 1995
  • Princess Marie Caroline, born 17 October 1996
  • Prince Georg, born 20 April 1999
  • Prince Nikolaus, born 6 December 2000.

Vaduz, May 2012                                                     

erbprinzenpaar1

News
Result of the popular vote on the power of veto of the Reigning Prince
 
For other interesting news, click here

S.D. Erbprinz Alois

Erbprinz Alois kam am 11. Juni 1968 als ältester Sohn von Fürst Hans-Adam II. und Fürstin Marie von und zu Liechtenstein in Zürich zur Welt und wurde auf die Namen Alois Philipp Maria getauft. Den Namen Alois erhielt der Erbprinz im Andenken an seinen Urgrossvater, Prinz Alois von Liechtenstein, den Vater des damaligen regierenden Fürsten Franz Josef II.

Erbprinz Alois verlebte seine Jugend auf Schloss Vaduz. Er besuchte die Primarschule in Vaduz-Ebenholz und trat 1979 ins Liechtensteinische Gymnasium ein, das er im Frühjahr 1987 mit der Matura (Typus B, literaturhistorische Richtung) abschloss.

Anschliessend trat er in die königliche Militärakademie in Sandhurst (Grossbritannien) ein, wo er eine Offiziersausbildung absolvierte. Nach der Brevetierung zum Second Lieutenant leistete er während eines halben Jahres Dienst bei den Coldstream Guards in Hong Kong und London.
 

Im Oktober 1988 immatrikulierte Erbprinz Alois als Student der Rechtswissenschaft an der Universität Salzburg. Er schloss dieses Studium im Frühjahr 1993 mit dem Magisterdiplom ab. Von September 1993 bis Mai 1996 arbeitete er bei einem Wirtschaftsprüfungsunternehmen in London. Seitdem lebt er wieder in Vaduz und ist für verschiedene Bereiche des fürstlichen Vermögens tätig.

Als ältester Sohn des Landesfürsten ist Erbprinz Alois nach den Hausgesetzen zur Thronfolge bestimmt. Am 15. August 2004 hat Fürst Hans-Adam II. gemäss Art. 13bis der Verfassung des Fürstentums Liechtenstein Erbprinz Alois zur Vorbereitung für die Thronfolge als seinen Stellvertreter mit der Ausübung der ihm zustehenden Hoheitsrechte betraut. Der Erbprinz nimmt somit seit dem 15. August 2004 sowohl national als auch international die Aufgaben des Staatsoberhauptes des Fürstentums Liechtenstein wahr.

Am 3. Juli 1993 vermählte sich Erbprinz Alois von und zu Liechtenstein mit Herzogin Sophie in Bayern. Sie haben vier Kinder:

  • Prinz Joseph Wenzel, geb. 24. Mai 1995
  • Prinzessin Marie Caroline, geb. 17. Oktober 1996
  • Prinz Georg, geb. 20. April 1999
  • Prinz Nikolaus, geb. 6. Dezember 2000.

 

Vaduz, August 2007                                            

erbprinzenpaar1

Aktuell
Ansprache Seiner Durchlaucht Erbprinz Alois von und zu Liechtenstein anlässlich des Staatsfeiertages 2014
Ansprache Seiner Durchlaucht Erbprinz Alois von und zu Liechtenstein anlässlich der Landtagseröffnung am 27. Februar 2014
Geburtstags-Interview S.D. des Fürsten mit Herrn Günther Fritz vom Liechtensteiner Vaterland
 
weitere interessante Meldungen finden Sie unter News