Prince Franz Josef II.   1938 - 1989

Prince Franz Josef was born on the 16th of August 1906 in the Frauenthal Castle in Styria as the first son of Prince Alois of Liechtenstein and Archduchess Elisabeth Amalie of Austria. Emperor Franz Josef I was godfather of the little prince.

Prince Franz Josef spent an untroubled youth in several castles in Austria, and worth mentioning is especially the stay in the Gross-Ullersdorf Castle in Moravia (1911-1914), where the prince developed his passion for nature which influenced his further studies.

 

According to an education based on Liechtenstein traditions, Prince Franz Josef attended the Schotten Grammar School in Vienna, where he graduated in 1925.

His favourite subjects were mathematics, natural history and Greek. Due to his passion for nature he continued his studies at the University of Agricultural Sciences in Vienna (1925-1929). .

In 1929 Prince Franz Josef graduated from the university as a forest engineer and dedicated himself to the administration of the vast goods in Czechoslovakia, which became his responsibility after the death of the Prince Johannes II.

Skiing and mountain sports as well as swimming were among his favourite leisure time occupations. The young prince often travelled to Europe and overseas.

 

Prince Franz I turned over the regency to Prince Franz Josef on the 30th of March 1938.The same year, on the 25th of July, Franz I died and the designated regent prince took over the leadership of the affairs of the country. The homage of the Liechtenstein folk towards its new prince took place on the 30th of May 1939.

Whilst the world was threatened by the hostile tendencies of the ''Third Reich'' this enunciation gained double signification: the folk acknowledged the statehood under the leadership of its new prince Franz Joseph II.

Liechtenstein experienced a second climax when the prince wed the Countess Georgine of Wilczeck (daughter of count Ferdinand of Wilczeck and the countess Nora Kinski, born in Graz on the 24th of October 1921, died in Vaduz on the 18th October 1989).

They had five children: Hereditary Prince Hans-Adam (born 14th of February 1945), Prince Phillip Erasmus (born 19th of August 1946), Prince Nikolaus Ferdinand (born on the 24th of October 1947), Princess Nora Elisabeth (born 31st of October 1950) and Prince Franz Josef Wenzel (born 19th of November 1962, died on the 28th of February 1991).

Prince Franz Josef II turned his attention especially to the fact of keeping Liechtenstein out of the Second World War. By speeches from the throne and messages the regent managed to fortify the inner closeness and the resisting power of his folk.

After the war Franz Josef II dedicated himself mainly to the economic, social and cultural progress of Liechtenstein. His efforts had as a result a modern and to great extent a viable Liechtenstein.

In 1984, the 45th year of his reign, Prince Franz Joseph II appointed Prince Hans-Adam II his permanent representative under Article 13bis of the Constitution, entrusting him with the discharge of State business. On 13th November 1989, following the death of Prince Franz Joseph II, Prince Hans-Adam II succeeded.

News
Result of the popular vote on the power of veto of the Reigning Prince
 
For other interesting news, click here

Fürst Franz Josef II.   1938 - 1989

Am 16. August 1906 wurde Prinz Franz Josef auf Schloss Frauenthal in der Steiermark als erster Sohn von Prinz Alois von und zu Liechtenstein und Erzherzogin Elisabeth Amalie von Österreich geboren. Kaiser Franz Josef I. war Pate des kleinen Prinzen.

Auf verschiedenen Schlössern Österreichs verbrachte Prinz Franz Josef eine unbeschwerte Jugend, und besonders der Aufenthalt auf Schloss Gross-Ullersdorf in Mähren (1911-1914) verdient hervorgehoben zu werden, weil der junge Prinz dort seine Liebe zur Natur entwickelte, die sein künftiges Studium bestimmte.

 

Nach einer auf den Traditionen des liechtensteinischen Geschlechtes aufbauenden Erziehung besuchte Prinz Franz Josef das Schottengymnasium in Wien, das er 1925 mit der Matura abschloss.

Seine liebsten Fächer waren Mathematik, Naturgeschichte und Griechisch. Seiner grossen Naturliebe entsprach das nun folgende Forststudium an der Hochschule für Bodenkultur in Wien (1925-1929).

1929 verliess Prinz Franz Josef die Hochschule als Diplomforstingenieur und widmete sich in der Folge der Verwaltung der ausgedehnten Güter in der Tschechoslowakei, die ihm nach dem Tode des Fürsten Johannes II. zufielen.

Der Ski- und Bergsport sowie Schwimmen gehörten zu seinen liebsten Freizeitbeschäftigungen. Sehr oft war der junge Prinz auch auf Reisen in Europa und in Übersee.

Am 30. März 1938 hatte Fürst Franz I. dem Prinzen Franz Josef die Regentschaft übergeben. Am 25. Juli des gleichen Jahres starb Franz I. und der designierte Prinzregent übernahm die Leitung der Geschicke des Landes. Am 30. Mai 1939 fand die Huldigung des liechtensteinischen Volkes an seinen Fürsten statt.

Während die Welt durch die Kriegswirren des «Dritten Reiches» bedroht wurde, gewann diese Kundgebung doppelte Bedeutung: Das Volk legte ein eindrückliches Bekenntnis zur Eigenstaatlichkeit unter Führung seines neuen Fürsten Franz Josef II. ab.

Einen zweiten Höhepunkt erlebte Liechtenstein, als sich der Fürst am 7. März 1943 mit Gräfin Georgine von Wilczek vermählte (Tochter des Grafen Ferdinand von Wilczek und der Gräfin Nora Kinsky, geboren in Graz am 24. Oktober 1921, gestorben in Vaduz am 18. Oktober 1989).

Der Verbindung entsprossen fünf Kinder: Erbprinz Hans-Adam (geb. 14. Februar 1945), Prinz Philipp Erasmus (geb. 19. August 1946), Prinz Nikolaus Ferdinand (geb. 24. Oktober 1947), Prinzessin Nora Elisabeth (geb. 31. Oktober 1950) und Prinz Franz Josef Wenzel (geb. 19. November 1962, gest. 28. Februar 1991).

Fürst Franz Josef II. legte sein ganzes Augenmerk darauf, Liechtenstein aus dem Zweiten Weltkrieg herauszuhalten. In Thronreden und Botschaften stärkte der Regent die innere Geschlossenheit und Widerstandskraft seines Volkes.

Nach dem Krieg galt die ganze Sorge Franz Josef II. dem wirtschaftlichen, sozialen und kulturellen Fortschritt Liechtensteins. Vom Erfolg seiner Bemühungen zeugte ein modernes und im hohen Masse lebensfähiges Liechtenstein.

In seinem 45. Regierungsjahr im Jahre 1984 setzte Fürst Franz Josef II. gemäss Artikel 13bis der Verfassung Erbprinz Hans-Adam II. als dauernden Stellvertreter ein und beauftragte ihn mit der Wahrnehmung der Staatsgeschäfte. Am 13. November 1989, nach dem Tode von Fürst Franz Josef II., übernahm dieser als Fürst Hans-Adam II. die Regentschaft.

Aktuell
Ansprache Seiner Durchlaucht Erbprinz Alois von und zu Liechtenstein anlässlich der Landtagseröffnung am 27. Februar 2014
Geburtstags-Interview S.D. des Fürsten mit Herrn Günther Fritz vom Liechtensteiner Vaterland
Stellungnahme S.D. des Erbprinzen zum Initiative der FBP zur Entkriminalisierung des Schwangerschaftsabbruchs
 
weitere interessante Meldungen finden Sie unter News